Tags

, , , , , ,

Spring has been very, umm, “Cleveland” this year. But this weekend we turned a corner — I hope. And I took full advantage.

Before heading to a friend’s housewarming party, I swung by Lilly Handmade Chocolates to pick up some of the prettiest chocolates I’ve ever seen. The Tremont shop carries truffles in wild flavors, which makes it the perfect place to host wine and chocolate pairings (yes, you can expect to find me at the next tasting).

On Sunday, I returned to Alley Cat Oyster Bar at the Flats East Bank to try another one of Zack Bruell’s amazing brunch specials. The chili beef hash with sweet potatoes is definitely a winner, but the crab Benedict is still my favorite. (I heard the lobster omelet was also delish!) If you’re looking for the best seafood in the city, this is the place to be.

And then there’s the bloody mary bar stocked with jerky, bacon, havarti, Gouda and Muenster cubes, pickled peppers, horseradish sauce, spices and more. The build-your-own might be a bit stressful, but it’s totally worth it in the end.

Just a few hours later, I met my grandma for dinner (poor planning), so by the time I made it home I was almost too stuffed to move. But I convinced myself to lace up my jogging shoes, and of course I don’t regret it. Along the way, I stopped to watch the sun setting over Lake Erie. Sunset season has arrived!

