Tags

, , , , ,

The Met Gala, I have to remind myself, is a costume party. I can’t even imagine the stress I would have if I (in my dreams) received an invite to walk this most glorious of all red carpets. The nature of the event calls for something beyond the typical red carpet gown, but a look that takes the theme too seriously can often be a disaster.

Last night’s Costume Institute Gala theme was “Manus x Machina: Fashion in an Age of Technology,” and the stars were certainly forward-thinking. I’m still expecting to come across a picture of Zenon posing on the stairs. Some were close (Zenon would have loved Solange’s yellow leggings), but I think robot-inspired was the biggest trend of the night.

This year, I shuddered at a few looks (were all the combat boots just a Louis Vuitton thing?). I rolled my eyes at some who tried too hard. I nodded knowingly at all the metallic, because I, too, would probably think “technology” goes with “futuristic” and therefore “silver.” I applauded the smart and tasteful attempts at avant-garde, and I swooned over ladies who took the chance to go big and glamorous in a way that other red carpet events might not accept so readily (I’m looking at you, dark goddess Bella Hadid).

If I’m being unclear, let me just say this. The winners, to me, climbed the carpeted stairs with an extra sparkle and shine. Technology is often rigid and sleek (think laptops and iPhones). But it’s also glowing, the flow of information is fluid, and our stories live in the clouds.

That’s why you’ll find starry-night looks like Willow Smith and Nicole Kidman on my list, glittering beauties such as Zendaya and Adriana Lima, and dreamy princess gowns on Claire Danes and Blake Lively. To me, the best dressed guests ditched the literal to follow a loose interpretation of the evening’s theme.

Here are a few of my favorite looks from the 2016 Met Gala. Who were your favorites?

IF

Willow Smith attends the  Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Chanel. (Photo by Jamie McCarthy/FilmMagic)

IF

Adriana Lima attends the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Giambattista Valli. (Photo by Kevin Mazur/WireImage)

BlakeLively_Burberry_GettyImages

Blake Lively attends the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Burberry. (Photo by Venturelli/FilmMagic)

IF

Idris Elba attends the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Tom Ford. (Photo by Larry Busacca/Getty Images)

IF

Zendaya attends the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Michael Kors Collection. (Photo by Larry Busacca/Getty Images)

IF

Claire Danes attends the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Zac Posen. (Photo by Jamie McCarthy/FilmMagic)

IF

The Weeknd and Bella Hadid attend the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Givenchy and Givenchy Haute Couture. (Photo by Larry Busacca/Getty Images)

JourdanDunn_Balmain__GettyImages

Jourdan Dunn attends the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Balmain. (Photo by George Pimentel/WireImage)

IF

Lily-Rose Melody Depp attends the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Chanel. (Photo by Jamie McCarthy/FilmMagic)

IF

Gigi Hadid attends the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Tommy Hilfiger. (Photo by Jamie McCarthy/FilmMagic)

IF

Kristen Stewart attends the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Chanel. (Photo by Jamie McCarthy/FilmMagic)

IF

Poppy Delevingne attends the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Marchesa. (Photo by Larry Busacca/Getty Images)

Jenna-Lyons-jennifer-Konner-Lena-Dunham

Jenna Lyons, Jennifer Konner and Lena Dunham attend the Costume Institute Gala at Metropolitan Museum of Art. (Photo via Vogue.com)

IF

Nicole Kidman attends the Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art on May 2, 2016 in New York City. (Photo by Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images)

IF

Amber Heard attends the Costume Institute Gala at Metropolitan Museum of Art wearing Ralph Lauren Collection. (Photo by Larry Busacca/Getty Images)

