Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Gone are the days of primary colors, the red, yellow and blue that dominates childhood toys and packets of crayons. By the time I was in fourth grade, I was the proud owner of Crayola’s 64-pack of crayons. It was almost too hard to decide which color to use.

In high school art, I mixed paint until I found the perfect match to the color swatches in front of me. In college, I met graphic design students who introduced me to Pantone. (Yes, Threadies, thank you!)

Each year, Pantone declares the shade that will serve as the Pantone Color of the Year. I was a fan of Tangerine Tango, even more of Marsala, but not so much of Radiant Orchid. But for 2016, we have the first blending of two shades: Rose Quartz and Serenity. (That’s Pantone 12-1520 and Pantone 15-3919, of course.)

“Joined together, Rose Quartz and Serenity demonstrate an inherent balance between a warmer embracing rose tone and the cooler tranquil blue, reflecting connection and wellness as well as a soothing sense of order and peace,” says Leatrice Eiseman, executive director of the Pantone Color Institute.

Besides being a captivating combination that creates awe when found in nature and a certain feminine prettiness in pop art settings, this pastel pink and blue duo is a source of inspiration, from spring fashion to home decor.

And beyond mere inspiration, the Pantone Color of the Year is a symbol of the culture, mood and attitude of the present day. This year’s reference is worth a quick read (here!). As for me, enjoy a few of my favorite images of Rose Quartz and Serenity making a splash in our world.

Images via Pinterest:
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

