Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

If you ask me, this year’s Academy Awards ran a little long (maybe I’m getting old), and the red carpet was too short. Still, I always love seeing which designers make an appearance and who my favorite leading ladies decide to represent.

Over the years, I’ve noticed color is important to me. The best example here is Charlize Theron, who stole my attention as the lady in red. The deep V-neck Christian Dior gown was the perfect vibrant hue for her fair skin and blonde hair.

Orange has been sneaking into the award show red carpets lately, and last night Olivia Munn made the sometimes-awkward color work in an elegant column dress by Stella McCartney. Saoirse Ronan opted for a green slip dress by Calvin Klein to call on the luck of the Irish — but to me, she looked like a gorgeous mermaid.

As much as “best dressed” tends to mean “my favorite styles,” having a good fit really does make all the difference. Naomi Watts is one star who annually sneaks onto my Oscars best dressed lists. She is so aware of which styles work best on her petite figure, like this strapless Armani Prive look. Her colors are usually reserved (metallics, deep tones, neutrals), but she does like to add glimmer and shine. As for maternity looks, I was less a fan of Emily Blunt’s empire waist as I was Chrissy Teigen’s fit-around-the-bump Marchesa dazzler.

Here are a few of my favorite looks from the 88th Academy Awards. Who topped your list?

Saoirse Ronan Calvin Klein_Oscars 2016 Best Dressed

Saoirse Ronan in custom Calvin Klein // 88th Annual Academy Awards 

Priyanka Chopra Zuhair Murad_Oscars 2016 Best Dressed

Priyanka Chopra in Zuhair Murad // 88th Annual Academy Awards

Charlize Theron Christian Dior_Oscars 2016 Best Dressed

Charlize Theron in Christian Dior // 88th Annual Academy Awards

Chrissy Teigen Marchesa_Oscars 2016 Best Dressed

Chrissy Teigen in Marchesa with John Legend // 88th Annual Academy Awards

Naomi Watts Armani Prive_Oscars 2016 Best Dressed

Naomi Watts wearing Armani Prive // 88th Annual Academy Awards

Margot Robbie Tom Ford_Oscars 2016 Best Dressed

Margot Robbie rocking Tom Ford // 88th Annual Academy Awards

Olivia Munn Stella McCartney_Oscars 2016 Best Dressed

Olivia Munn wearing Stella McCartney // 88th Annual Academy Awards

Lady Gaga Brandon Maxwell_Oscars 2016 Best Dressed

Lady Gaga in Brandon Maxwell with Taylor Kinney // 88th Annual Academy Awards

All photos Getty Images via Huffington Post

