Tags

, , , , , ,

Brite Winter fest invaded the West Bank of the Flats on Saturday, but I decided to bypass the annual music and art festival. Instead, I explored a portion of Asiatown filled with warehouses, took a stroll through my neighborhood, the Warehouse District, and went to my first Lake Erie Monsters hockey game in far too long.

Friday was also the start to Downtown Cleveland Restaurant Week, always a favorite time of year. To kick it off, I started at Santorini, a Greek restaurant just a block away. Instead of the typical price-fixed menu with a few options for course one, a couple for course two and so on, Santorini offered any appetizer/spread/small salad and any entree off the regular menu. This allowed me to really sample the restaurant’s selection!

We opted for the Kefalonitiki Kreatopita (rolled phyllo dough filled with rice and meat) and the popular Saganaki (kefalotyri cheese pan-fried and set on fire next to us!). For the second course, we shared Kotsi Arni (slowly braised lamb shanks served with orzo pasta) and the Bifteki Gemisto (chopped beef steak stuffed with kasseri cheese and topped with tomato and mint relish). That’s a lot of details, but really all you need to know is it was delicious.

The weekend was unseasonably warm (um, 65 degrees in February?!), and I couldn’t help but get excited for spring. Before that happens, though, I have a few more Restaurant Week spots to cross off my to-do list.

123456

