Tags

, , , , ,

When I think of my favorite designers, it’s usually those of the haute couture breed that first come to mind. Elie Saab and Chanel, Christian Dior and Givenchy. When fashion week comes around, I look for my usual favorites. Alice + Olivia is a name I quickly recognize but rarely go out of my way to seek. The Fall 2016 Ready-to-Wear collection changed that.

The ’70s are having a huge moment all across the fashion world (we all know by now that fashion repeats itself!), but there is something extra special about this collection. The pants are flared and fabrics adorned. The eclectic looks feature wide-brim hats and the type of vests I’d find in my mom’s closet and steal for myself like little vintage treasures. The over-the-knee boots rock (they’re the No. 1 item on my wish list at the moment).

Take a look at the color palette, a kaleidoscope of saturated hues as bright as the New York City culture during that decade. Red, a color I typically shy away from, is a standout here. Paired with other Crayola-box colors, speckled within a pattern or toned down with a denim jacket (yes, something as mainstream as a denim jacket!), the vibrant hue is suddenly easier to approach.

That is key: the looks truly are approachable and ready to wear. I could easily slip into the red, high-waisted flares and tuck in a blouse before hitting brunch with the girls. The midi-length skirts are perfect for the office. And the leather-meets-gold details are my go-to for nights at the disco, or, you know, downtown bars if we’re back in the 21st century.

As Stacey Bendet, creative director at Alice + Olivia, told Vogue.com, “Right now, we’re watching so much creativity leave New York — every artist or musician is moving to L.A. I was craving that moment when it was all right here.”

Read the review and see the full collection here (you’ll get an ever-so-brief history lesson and a peek inside Bendet’s mind), and check out a few of my favorite looks from the show below.

31_Alice + Olivia Fall 2016 Ready-to-Wear26_Alice + Olivia Fall 2016 Ready-to-Wear24_Alice + Olivia Fall 2016 Ready-to-Wear20_Alice + Olivia Fall 2016 Ready-to-Wear4_Alice + Olivia Fall 2016 Ready-to-Wear3_Alice + Olivia Fall 2016 Ready-to-Wear1_Alice + Olivia Fall 2016 Ready-to-Wear

Photos courtesy Alice + Olivia, via Vogue.com

