Tags

, , , , , , ,

Flying out West to visit Arizona with my parents is starting to become a bit of a tradition. My foodie mom always scopes out amazing restaurants, the shopping is on point and mountain hiking is officially my favorite form of exercise.

This trip was just a tad different than my last visit in 2012. Because, you know, apparently even the desert gets chilly in December. Still, I had a great extra-long weekend. Look below the photos for a quick recap, and see images from my previous Arizona vacation here.

  • Per tradition, first thing after landing was a trip to the soda fountain MacAlpine’s. The Parisienne was a delicious mix of coffee ice cream and vanilla soda.
  • This year, we didn’t make it to Camelback Mountain or Piestewa Peak, but we hiked South Mountain, Pinnacle Peak and Papago Park.
  • Brix in Flagstaff is by far mom’s favorite restaurant in Arizona, and dinner there was delicious as always. But lunch at Barrio Cafe in Phoenix was also a treat, including the award-winning guacamole. (And the burger I had at Iron Chef Mark Tarbell’s The Tavern is quite possibly the best I’ve ever had. Ever.)
  • An afternoon in Tempe to see the Arizona State University Art Museum became a day-long affair when we discovered an art festival. Such a cool college town!
  • Mom made sure there was plenty of wine tasting. The shot above is the gorgeous setting of Alcantara Vineyards and Winery. We also revisited Page Springs Cellars (see more of that in my previous post).
  • Of course, we drove through Sedona on our way up to Flagstaff. I wish we had time to get out and hike among the red rocks, but even the views driving through town are breathtaking.

Photos by me!

