Tags

, , , , , , ,

Poor summer, it doesn’t know it’s dying.
A few days are all it has. Still, the lake 
is with me, its strokes of blue-violet 
and the fiery sun replacing loneliness.
I feel like an animal that has found a place. 
This is my burrow, my nest, my attempt 
to say, I exist. A rose can’t shut itself 
and be a bud again. It’s a malady,
wanting it. On the shore, the moon sprinkles 
light over everything, like a campfire, 
and in the green-black night, the tall pines 
hold their arms out as God held His arms 
out to say that He was lonely and that 
He was making Himself a man.
“Embers” by Henri Cole

Pretty much everything I know, love, feel, care about poetry I owe to my friend and former teacher Dave Lucas. He’s actually the author of some of my favorite poems (see here), but it’s also through Facebook stalking him that I’ve discovered even more brilliant works, like the one above by Henri Cole.

As summer was beginning to fade — was it still August or already September, I can’t even remember — Michael and I raced the setting sun to get to Edgewater Beach in time to watch it sink below the horizon. It was a quiet day at the beach, a couple holding hands here and a few rascally dogs there.

I wanted the chance to wear my bohemian beach dress. It has made an appearance both while horseback riding on the beaches of the Mediterranean Sea and in the bars of Baltimore, but it’s safe to say the beach is where it belongs.

It’s also the perfect option for showing off my current obsession: Flash Tattoos. The temporary tattoo brand teamed up with Beyonce to make a line inspired by her music (song titles and words are included, hence “perfection” on my index finger) and her loving fan base, the Beyhive. That’s where the badass bee on my shoulder blade comes from. I love how they sparkled in the golden sunset.

Today it’s chilly and overcast, so I’m enjoying the chance to flip through these pictures that remind me of summer’s last, warm embers.

1Beach_Edgewater_29 2Beach_Edgewater_09 3Beach_Edgewater_10 5Beach_Edgewater_14 6Beach_Edgewater_16 7Beach_Edgewater_19 9Beach_Edgewater_11 10Beach_Edgewater_15 11Beach_Edgewater_22 12Beach_Edgewater_24 13Beach_Edgewater_17 14Beach_Edgewater_28

Photos by Michael Ciuni

