Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It’s Paris Fashion Week! And that means I’m anxiously waiting for street style pictures, models off duty and shows for Balenciaga, Alexander McQueen and more amazingly creative designers.

It also means I scoured my Facebook albums of the three (very quick) trips I took to Paris while studying abroad… more years ago than I’d like to admit.

I’m infatuated with the architecture in Paris. Of course, there’s the Sacre Coeur, Eiffel Tower, Cathedrale de Notre Dame and the Louvre. It’s phenomenal how I could fall so deeply in love with the Eiffel Tower — just an iron structure rising 984 feet above the streets. But I marveled at it from Trocadero, from its base, from the top of Montmartre and the top of the Arc de Triomphe as the sun set (you can see my photo of the twinkling Eiffel Tower after sunset below).

But it’s also the streets of Saint Germain, with its cafes and restaurants spilling onto the sidewalk and stone facades rising above you. And the alleyways, where you’d turn a corner and catch a glimpse of the Sacre Coeur or the Eiffel Tower in the distance.

Montmartre became my favorite spot in the entire city, with the domes of the Sacre Coeur peeking between buildings, too many crepe stands to choose from and Place du Tertre, the heartbeat of the neighborhood, buzzing with artists.

I visited the Musee d’Orsay, where I got my first look at the magnificent gilded clock, and crossed the river to stand in the center of 360 degrees of Monet’s water lilies at Musee de l’Orangerie. I shuffled through numerous train stations (Gare du Nord is below) and watched the sun slowly climb over the sleepy city from my hostel in Montparnasse.

So, in honor of Paris Fashion Week, here are a few of my favorite snapshots of the City of Lights.

Paris1 Paris2 Paris3

Paris4 Paris5 Paris6 Paris7 Paris8 Paris9 Paris10 Paris11 Paris12 Paris13 Paris14

Photos by Hallie Rybka

