Tags

, , , , , ,

RedBuscemi

I was scrolling through my Instagram feed last night when I saw it: the Holy Grail of shoes. Wendy Lam, founder of the fashion website nitro:licious, was wearing a glowingly perfect pair of red Buscemi Alta sneakers.

I fell in love with Buscemi sneakers after seeing a pair on model Jourdan Dunn‘s Instragram page. They are a high-quality, leather product (full-grain Italian calf leather, to be exact) with an urban flair. Unlike the Isabel Marant kicks I’ve loved for years, Buscemi presents a sleek silhouette in its high-top options.

The Alta design is the perfect storm of my current obsessions, though. I’ve long been considering adding a wedge sneaker to my shoe collection, with Isabel Marant as the inspiration and Nike or Steve Madden as the less-expensive reality. And, with one pair of Air Jordans now in my possession, I’ve concluded my next pair should be red.

Buscemi? Check. Wedge? Check. Red? Check.

The only problem? The price tag.

With hopes of slipping these beauties on my feet, I crossed my fingers and whispered, “If it’s $600, I’ll consider. $600 or less. Please.” And yes, I realize even that is a ridiculous price, but with a rougher tag of $890, the Buscemi Alta sneakers are out of even my most irrational fantasies.

Back to the sole search, I guess. As for these Buscemis? I’ll see you in my dreams.

