Tags

, , , , , , ,

I never made it to Cannes when I was studying in France, but I’m starting to wonder why I didn’t time up a weekend trip during the 2011 Festival de Cannes. The event pairs two of my favorite things, after all: red carpet fashion and the French Riviera.

To save time (read: be lazy), I made the mistake of deciding to post my 10 best dressed of the entire 2015 Festival de Cannes. But really, there are so many premieres, press outings and other events, that it’s actually really hard to pick just 10. I tried to capture a range of styles and events, but for more of my favorite looks, visit my Strike a Pose Pinterest board, where I post all my favorite celebrity style and red carpet looks.

I’ll kick off the list with Lupita Nyong’o. She’s proved time and again to be a breath of fresh air in the style world, and her white Oscar de la Renta dress (worn while sightseeing) captured the tropical and glamorous essence of Cannes. The rest of these leading ladies topped my list for their choices that range from elegant to bold to sophisticated to straight up fun.

1LupitaODLR_HuffPo

Lupita Nyong’o twirls in her Oscar de la Renta dress while sightseeing. // Photo via Huffington Post

2PoppyDelevingne_BurberryProrsum_Harpers

Poppy Delevingne came across like the queen of an enchanted garden in this green Burberry Prorsum gown at the “Carol” premiere. // Photo via Harper’s Bazaar

FanBingBing_WireImage

Fan Bingbing attends the opening ceremony and premiere of “La Tete Haute” in Ralph & Russo. // Photo by Dominique Charriau/WireImage via Harper’s Bazaar

5CateBlanchett_Giles_LuckyMagazine

From afar, Cate Blanchett’s Giles gown (worn at the “Carol” premiere) is the perfect glamour silhouette, but upon closer inspection, the pattern is a talking point all its own. // Photo via Lucky Magazine

5EmilyBluntPeterPilotto_elle

Emily Blunt is right to speak out against the high heel rule at the Festival de Cannes. But I still have to admit, her Jimmy Choo sandals look amazing with this streamlined Peter Pilotto dress at the “Sicario” photocall. // Photo via Elle

6DianeKruger_Prada_WhoWhatWear

My perennial red carpet queen, Diane Kruger exudes confidence and grace in this Prada dress at the “Disorder” premiere. // Photo via Who What Wear

7NataliePortman_ChristianDior_Harpers

Natalie Portman takes a fun, youthful route with an asymmetrical option from Christian Dior. And yes, it’s completely sheer in the back! // Photo via Harper’s Bazaar

8JourdanDunnRalphRusso_Elle

You can blame it on her modeling roots, but I can’t picture anyone besides Jourdan Dunn wearing this Ralph & Russo sheer dress so well. // Photo via Elle

9Naomi WattsElieSaab_EOnline

Naomi Watts styled a number of great looks this year at Cannes, but I loved the melange of fun and glamour in the feathered Elie Saab gown that she wore to the opening ceremony. // Photo via E! Online

11MindyKaling_SalvadorPerezCustom_Harpers

Mindy Kaling wore custom Salvador Perez to the “Inside Out” premiere, and I can easily picture the bright, color-blocked look being reinterpreted for an everyday ensemble. // Photo via Harper’s Bazaar

