Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A door can be so much more than just a wooden slab covering an entryway. Sure, it keeps out prying eyes and snow flurries. But a door can also be a masterpiece — a work of art beckoning visitors inside.

Doors around the world are fascinating, varying in shape and color. Different cultures affect the style of these portals, which is why I fell instantly in love with the ornate doors I continuously stumbled across while traveling through Croatia and Slovenia.

Over the 10-day trip, I slowly became known as the girl who takes pictures of doors. Whether it was a government building, one of the many beautiful churches, or an apartment door just off the street, I found an array of detailed doors and extravagant door frames.

Eventually I’ll sift through the hundreds of photos I took in Europe to create a photo diary of my travels. Until then, I hope you enjoy some of my favorite doors of the Adriatic!

Croatia1

Kotor, Montenegro // One of my favorites, could you believe it’s “just” the side door to the famous Cathedral of Saint Tryphon?

Croatia2

Ljubljana, Slovenia // This door in the capital of Slovenia reminded me of the French doors I love so much, so I had to snap a picture.

Croatia3

Dubrovnik, Croatia // One of my favorites, there was no easy way to capture this door straight on. This shot was taken from above while walking on the city’s famous ramparts.

Croatia4

Zagreb, Croatia // This entrance is on a hill, so the ground is slanted, but there’s nothing crooked about this masterpiece.

Croatia5

Ljubljana, Slovenia // I snuck away from our guided tour to capture this gem squeezed between market stands in a tight alley.

Croatia6

Bled, Slovenia // This little portal is shorter than it appears and sits next to the wine cellar at Bled Castle.

Croatia7

Dubrovnik, Croatia // Sometimes as pop of color is all you need to stand out, but this detailing on this door would be beautiful in any color.

Croatia8

Ljubljana, Slovenia // The capital city had no shortage of exquisite doors and even more grand door frames.

Croatia9

Budva, Montenegro // With gray clouds looming overhead and the Adriatic crashing just yards to the right, this artistic work glowed despite the gloominess of the day.

Croatia10

Kotor, Montenegro // A local woman stopped to explain to us this door was made by Vasko Lipovac, a famous Croatian painter. Hearing the backstory made the door so much more special to us.

Croatia11

Zadar, Croatia // Whether working with wood, metals or stone, the Europeans are masters of creating awe-inspiring doorways.

 

All images property of Hallie Rybka.

