Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

We took Labor Day a bit literally this year and took the long weekend to move into a new apartment. The essentials are down (hanging the shower curtain, organizing the kitchen, color-coding my closet), but the trickiest part has been deciding how to decorate our main living spaces.

Being the DIY lover and Pinterest fanatic that I am, there are a million ideas swimming in my brain. The living room walls are exposed white brick, begging for crafty windowpane-turned-picture-frame art and an antique trunk for the coffee table.

But at the same time, I want to kick off my shoes after a long day in a place I can call my sanctuary, and one style that speaks to me is the zen Asian influence. Alright, also because we opted for a sleek, black-wood coffee table instead of the not-quite-flat vintage trunk in my boyfriends attic. Zut alors!

Zen, to me, means clean edges and simplicity. But with brick walls, a fusion of old-meets-new is inevitable. Hey, a lot of zen-inspired stone statues have a weathered look, right? And a perfectly chipped Japanese lantern just might take the piece into antique territory. Candles are another feature that add warmth and coziness to any decor scheme.

In the spirit of zen, here are a few images that are offering inspiration as I move forward with apartment decorating. I can’t wait to share photos of how the place turns out!

ZenHomeDecor1 ZenHomeDecor2 ZenHomeDecor3 ZenHomeDecor4 ZenHomeDecor5 ZenHomeDecor6 ZenHomeDecor7 ZenHomeDecor8Mothology

All images via Pinterest.

