Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Every spring, right as I’m getting excited about longer and warmer days, I catch a familiar scent and am hit by a blow of nostalgia. The months I spent in southern France will always provoke fond memories, often initiated by the smell of wisteria or a hearty gust of wind.

But as much as I adored my home away from home in Avignon (I wrote about that belle ville here and here), it was the sunny, Italian feel of Nice that I really fell in love with. So much so that I returned a second time, even when there were so many other regions I could have visited.

The French Riviera town sits between Cannes and Monte Carlo, Monaco. And somewhere between Cannes and Nice, the sand fades into smooth, oval-shaped rocks. (I suggest taking a mat, not just a towel, when you head to the beach.)

While the vivid blue water is a major factor in Nice’s allure, my friends and I fell deeply in love with Vieille Ville (Old Town). The narrow streets glow in the warm hues of the buildings towering over them, with twists that might turn down either another alley or open onto a bustling plaza filled with restaurants, markets or, my favorite, Glacier Fenocchio ice cream.

It’s been three years since my last visit to Nice. After looking through some of these photos, how could I not be dreaming of my return to the Riviera?

Nice, France // by Hallie Rybka

Rocky beach and La Grande Bleue, the Mediterranean Sea.

Nice, France // by Hallie Rybka

The lovely shades of aqua blue look pretty crashing on the shore, but getting back onto the rocky beach is always difficult.

Nice, France // by Hallie Rybka

Le Negresco is an iconic hotel on the Promenade des Anglais, overlooking the French Riviera.

Nice, France // by Hallie Rybka

The colorful streets of Old Town are beautiful at every turn.

Nice, France // by Hallie Rybka

By eating two to four scoops a day and sharing with friends, I tried more than 40 of the 96 ice cream flavors at Fenocchio. Can you say obsession?

Nice, France // by Hallie Rybka

I adore Place Rossetti in Old Town, which houses one location of Fenocchio as well as Cathedrale Sainte-Reparate, where I went to Easter mass.

Nice, France // by Hallie Rybka

Looking out the window of Hostel Smith, you can catch a glimpse of Place Rossetti.

Nice, France // by Hallie Rybka

I can’t wait to return to the golden glow of Nice.

All photos by Hallie Rybka.

