Tags

, , , ,

In case you were worried, black never left. Especially not in my daily wardrobe rotation. What is back is the black a-line dress that I last wore to a Christmas party.

With black shoes, a cardigan, silver belt, pearl pendant necklace and a deep red lip, the look was classic and definitely winter appropriate. But when I desperately needed something to wear that fell between summer dress and cocktail attire, I reached into my closet for this oldie.

Seeing the simple, black design as a blank canvas, I decided turquoise would be my palette for transforming the outfit into a spring-worthy ensemble. This braided turquoise necklace was the perfect choice for a bold-yet-fun statement, and it instantly reminded me of my Prabal Gurung x Target pumps. For a bit of edge, I opted for my black leather jacket to throw on once the night chill kicked in.

The benefit of having a simple dress in your closet is the ability to change up accessories, whether that is your jewelry, a belt or a killer pair of shoes. Patterns are fun, but never underestimate the power of a little black dress!

Turquoise LBD1

Dress: Nordstrom Rack | Necklace: Forever 21 | Purse: Nine West | Shoes: Prabal Gurung x Target

Turquoise LBD 2 Turquoise LBD3 Turquoise LBD4 Turquoise LBD5

