Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have two reasons for writing a second post on the Met Gala red carpet. (The first post is my best dressed list of the dazzling ladies, published yesterday.)

The first reason is kind of selfish. I liked Amber Heard’s Giambattista Valli dress. I was increasingly captivated by Emma Stone’s side-swept braid and her hot-pink Thakoon look. I secretly admired the gothic, noir feel of Beyonce in Givenchy. They might not have made my top 10 best dressed, but I needed another way to fit them in.

The second is that I couldn’t get over the pictures I was seeing of pure love. It started Monday night, as my Pinterest feed was blowing up with image after image of gorgeous gowns and dapper men in their black-tie best.

Among the bright colors and glamorous faces, I saw a handful of shots of Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds looking perfectly in love. The blonde beauty radiated with a happiness that could have made any ensemble look spectacular. But she was wearing a beautiful dress — a shimmering, blush pink Gucci Premiere dress, to be exact.

Later, I saw a Buzzfeed article. Beyonce lost her ring, and Jay Z helped her find it. You know the joke, he liked it so he put a ring on it. The pair looked fabulous, giggling with each other in the middle of the red carpet, surrounded by a sea of photographers.

That was the final straw, I had to post more of my favorite looks. So this time, here are my best dressed couples from the 2014 Met Gala.

Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds, both in Gucci.

Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds, both in Gucci.

Jay Z and Beyonce in Givenchy.

The pair proved their playful love when Jay Z found Beyonce’s ring. She wears noir-inspired Givenchy.

Emma Stone in Thakoon, with boyfriend and co-star Andrew Garfield.

Emma Stone in Thakoon, with boyfriend and co-star Andrew Garfield.

Johnny Depp went uber-classic in a Ralph Lauren tuxedo, Amber Heard in Giambattista Valli.

Johnny Depp went uber-classic in a Ralph Lauren tuxedo, complete with tails, cane and pocket watch, while his fiancee Amber Heard shined in Giambattista Valli.

Diane Kruger looks ethereal in Jason Wu for Hugo Boss, pictured with her beau Joshua Jackson.

Diane Kruger looks ethereal in Jason Wu for Hugo Boss, pictured with her beau Joshua Jackson.

Charlize Theron in Dior with Sean Penn.

Charlize Theron in Dior with Sean Penn.

And since I can’t just pick one, a bonus:

Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds, both in Gucci.

Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds, both in Gucci.

