Tags

, , , ,

I’m not always a fan of black and white graphic prints. I know, it’s a huge trend right now. But something about seeing a red carpet gown in blocks of these extreme colors feels mismatched and wants to make me click away.

So, it’s a bit surprising how much my Pinterest page has been loving on the windowpane pattern lately. That is, black stripes that meet at 90 degree angles on a white blouse, jacket, skirt and so on (or white stripes on a black background). That is also probably why this blouse continuously popped out at me while shopping -— and believe me, I picked it up and set it back down repeatedly.

At the end of the day, the shirt made it home with me. I was intrigued not only by the pattern, but the boxy shape and small collar. I love the look of buttoning a blouse to the top and throwing on a thick chain or statement necklace, but was oddly attracted to the nerdy look of leaving the jewelry off. I added simple, thin bangles instead.

I wanted to add a punch of color, and with the top being short, chose maroon high-wasted skinnies. Keeping with the old-school look, I decided to lace up some Oxfords. The black and white shoes tied in the colors of the blouse, helping to streamline this seemingly scattered look.

I already have big plans on how else to wear my windowpane blouse. Do I spy a future “One Shirt, Three Ways” post? And on a side note, who gives a f*** about an Oxford comma?

Midwest Perspective Windowpane Print_01 Midwest Perspective Windowpane Print_03 Midwest Perspective Windowpane Print_07 Midwest Perspective Windowpane Print_11 Midwest Perspective Windowpane Print_12 Midwest Perspective Windowpane Print_14 Midwest Perspective Windowpane Print_20 Midwest Perspective Windowpane Print_23 Midwest Perspective Windowpane Print_24 Midwest Perspective Windowpane Print_26

Photos by Michael Ciuni.

