Tags

, , , , ,

Knowing we have such an amazing theater presence in Cleveland is exciting. Each time I head to a show, I fall more in love with the theater-going experience: dressing up, dining downtown, walking along Euclid Avenue to the theater district and enjoying an amazing play, concert or ballet in a beautiful setting.

Three of the four productions I’ve seen in the last year have been in the Palace Theatre. The stage is smaller, but the lobby is beautiful. Marble pillars lead up to an intricate ceiling and a row of sparkling chandeliers.

Over the weekend, I saw the Broadway production “Chicago.” As much as I would love to see “Wicked” sometime soon, I chose “Chicago” because I fell in love with the razzle-dazzle of the ’20s and the exciting musical numbers when I saw the film.

Sometimes it’s hard to watch a live production of a movie whose soundtrack you have memorized down to the tone of each line. But, one of the plus sides is seeing the way the stage actors interact with the audience and their props — including the jazz band that played live and remained on stage throughout the show.

All in all, I had a fabulous night. I can’t wait for the next production I go to!

jazz2

The Palace Theatre, Cleveland PlayhouseSquare

