Tags

, , , , , ,

Don’t get me wrong, I love the movies. This year, I think the selection of films is fantastic, along with a group of well-deserving nominees. But I would be lying if I didn’t say watching the red carpet is my favorite part of the night.

Plenty of mamas-to-be were flashing their baby bumps and sporting a healthy, happy glow. I loved the dewy, simple make up that many of the award show attendees wore. Hair was also kept simple for the most part.

Color was big — I just don’t know if struck me in quite the best way. Do I like Sandra Bullock’s unique A-line, color block gown or would I have preferred her in a solid color with a straighter silhouette? Other stars who made me question their choices include Aubrey Plaza and, I hate to say it, Jennifer Lawrence. (I might not hate J.Law’s choice, but just take a peak at her look-a-like.)

Red is one color I often love to see at awards shows, and the hue was popular as ever last night. Emma Watson, Taylor Swift, Amy Adams and Lupita Nyong’o are among the ladies who matched the red carpet they were strolling down.

I was slightly underwhelmed with the dress choices at the Golden Globes this year, at least compared to 2013. Last year, there were a number of statuesque silhouettes and vivid colors. (See my 2013 Golden Globes best dressed here.)

Still, there was a number of women who got it right, along with a long list of dashing men. Here are my Golden Globes 2014 best dressed. Who made your best and worst dressed lists?

All photos credited to Getty Images, sourced via Harper’s Bazaar.

Golden Globes Emma Watson Christian Dior

Despite her posture (I blame the deep pockets), Emma Watson took a risk in a unique Christian Dior — and it paid off.

Golden Globes Kate Beckinsale

Kate Beckinsale joins Naomi Watts and others with the metallic trend.

Golden Globes Leslie Mann Dolce and Gabbana

You might hate it, but I love black, love lace and love a good peplum, so Leslie Mann was a win for me in Dolce and Gabbana.

Golden Globes Lupita Nyong'o Ralph Lauren

Lupita Nyong’o chose a Ralph Lauren gown in a gorgeous red hue that allowed her to stand out.

Golden Globes Michelle Dockery OdlR

Going princess never hurts. Michelle Dockery looks pretty in a high-low Oscar de la Renta.

Golden Globes Mila Kunis Gucci

Not her best, but I still thought Mila Kunis looked stunning in a metallic Gucci.

Golden Globes Olivia Wilde Gucci

Hot mama! A pregnant Olivia Wilde looks seductive as ever in Gucci.

Leonardo DiCaprio took home a Golden Globe for his role in "The Wolf of Wall Street." Gorgeous, isn't he?

Leonardo DiCaprio took home a Golden Globe for his role in “The Wolf of Wall Street.” Gorgeous, isn’t he?

