Tags

, , ,

With the holidays in full swing and shopping done, I can’t help but turn my focus to the minor details — like decorating the dining room table.

I’ve always been a fan of incorporating nature into holiday tablescapes, and I also learned an appreciation for candles from my dad. Together, those elements can create fabulous results.

Choosing a theme and running with it will help define your dining table decor. If the standard red-and-green Christmas table is not for you, consider a silver motif or all gold everything. But adding garland or pine tree twigs, no matter what color combination, adds a festive freshness.

I like to start by selecting a table runner and narrowing down exactly which coordinating napkins and dishes I will use. From there, I add the additional elements such as branches trimmed off our fir tree and unique candles. (I’m obsessed with the deep red not-cone-but-not-pyramid trio we gifted to dad two years ago.) Pine cones, simple bulb ornaments and cranberries floating in vases also add color and dimension.

Here’s some inspiration I found. How will you be decorating for the holidays?

festive holiday tablescapetablescape2tablescape4tablescape3tablescape6festive holiday tablescape5