Tags

, , , ,

Image via Pinterest.

Image via Pinterest.

“Keep your face always toward the sunshine and the shadows will fall behind you.” –Walt Whitman

As beautiful as snow can be when it falls in a glittering flurry of puffy flakes and carpets the ground in white, living in a city means the picturesque snow globe quickly turns to dirty slush.

In a season that torments us with freezing temperatures and scary driving conditions (which, in the Midwest, we are forcibly accustomed to), it is easy to slip into wintertime despair. There are days when I can barely bring myself out of the shelter of my bed, and stepping outside can quickly devour my good mood.

Walt Whitman’s words are timeless – and seasonless – but with my chilly feet losing feeling as we speak, I find it especially relevant to winter blues. It’s easy for people to turn toward the shadows and wrap ourselves in negative feelings. But by shifting our minds, reflecting on the positives and admiring simple daily pleasures, we can put our shadows behind us and move on toward the sun.

Chins up! The holidays are here. Take a moment to look past this hectic time of shopping (I regret not starting earlier) and focus on the beauty of the season and the love from family and friends.

