Tags

, , , ,

Masquerade! Paper faces on parade //
Masquerade! Hide your face so the world will never find you…

Alright, it isn’t really an extravagant bal masqué in the style of Vogue or Phantom of the Opera, but tonight the theme for the monthly MIX event at the Cleveland Museum of Art is “Underneath.” In the spirit of Halloween, masks and costumes are encouraged.

I’ve always been fascinated by the decadence of masquerade balls. My first glimpse of the ball was during Act II of Phantom of the Opera. Masks played a role once or twice in the Gossip Girl series. Most recently, the ladies of Pretty Little Liars donned masks in the Halloween special. 

I find even a simple mask or sheet of lace to be elegant. But Venetian masks are unparalleled. I haven’t been to Venice (yet), and therefore haven’t had the chance to lay my hands on one of the beautiful masks.

Fortunately, long ago I acquired a silver cat mask–probably right around when the production of Cats traveled through Cleveland. I actually bought the mask in the gift shop at Playhouse Square, though I know I didn’t see the musical in person.

I plan to pair my little feline gem with a black sheath dress with silver beading. And even though my outfit options are limited, I still enjoyed scouring the web and Pinterest to find masquerade inspiration.

masquerade audrey

Audrey Hepburn on a film set.

masquerade chuck bass

Mr. Chuck Bass, in the Gossip Girl “The Handmaiden’s Tale” episode.

masquerade marie antoinette

Masking Marie Antoinette style.

masquerade venetian

The beak masks always scare me.

masquerade Vogue Paris Bal Masqué Sasha Pivovarova and Maryna Linchuk

Sasha Pivovarova and Maryna Linchuk at the Vogue Paris bal masqué.

masquerade vogue

Vogue editorial for le bal masqué.

masquerade Vogue-Paris-90th-Anniversary-Masked-Ball-Paris-30-Sept-2010

The Vogue Paris 90th Anniversary masked ball, Sept. 30, 2010.

mask

I love that this mask is music themed.

