Tags

, , ,

 

Lou Reed lived a life that was truly one of a kind. For that and the music he leaves behind, his legacy will keep him alive forever.

Walk on the Wild Side” is certainly one of his most recognizable and popular songs. That’s because it is so good. I remember driving with my mom when I was too young to know what cool is, and yet I believed if I could channel Reed’s voice and philosophy, I too would be as cool as him.

It was these early moments with my mom that, like much of my taste in music, led to my discovery of new (or should I say old?) music. Because, after hearing “Walk on the Wild Side” enough times, I came across her Transformer record, and I was no longer a fan of a song. I became a fan of an artist, a rocker, a real cool dude. Oh, and that led to my discovery of The Velvet Underground and David Bowie, to name a few.

I played my fair share of Reed songs yesterday, and I plan on continuing that today. Rolling Stone gives us a good place to start: “20 Essential Tracks of Lou Reed.”

“Oh, it’s such a perfect day. I’m glad I spend it with you.” –”Perfect Day,” Transformer

Lou Reed Transformer image via Google Images.

Lou Reed Transformer image via Google Images.

