Tags

, , ,

create your own sunshine

Do you ever have those mornings where nothing terribly bad happens, and yet every little annoyance seems to build up and affect your mood?

It has been happening to me a lot lately. I hate to be someone who complains about such little troubles, and yet I’ve found myself starting each day this week grumpy.

I’ve been waiting for the perfect day to pull out this bright block of wisdom—a day when I most needed a little morning pick me up. Today, with the steady stream of rain slicing down on me and clouds so thick not a ray of light could shine through, I think I found that day.

On days like these, when you feel like the world is out to get you or at least that it just doesn’t give one care about you, that’s when you need to create your own sunshine. As Happy Gilmore would say, “Find your happy place.”

Shifting your mind to positive thoughts or memories, going out of your way for a morning chat with an upbeat coworker and plugging in your headphones to catch a few of your favorite tunes are all ways to improve your gloomy morning.

So grab a cup of coffee (or is that only therapy among my office mates?) and stop keeping a tally of all the things going wrong in your day. Instead, start finding methods to create your own sunshine.

