Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Happy Monday cool cats! I hope you all had a great weekend.

Here in Cleveland, the fun started way back on Wednesday when the Indians made it to October baseball for the first time in… how many years? It was so invigorating walking around downtown among a sea of red shirts in support of the team that I simply had to hit up City Tap for a few brews to watch the game.

Then, the Browns played a Thursday night game. I walked over to the tailgate right on Lake Erie after work. It was the best game I’ve ever attended– and I’ll take a Brownies win any day!

Friday, clam bake with family and friends in the Flats. Saturday, attended my high school homecoming tailgate, napped during a fall rain shower and snuggled in with chocolate peanut butter ice cream to watch “Place Beyond the Pines“– just another great Ryan Gosling flick. Sunday, I brunched at The Inn on Coventry, my favorite place for lemon ricotta pancakes.

But enough about the weekend, I’m here to remind you the October issue of Ohio Magazine is on newsstands now! Flip it open to read about six amazing spots to catch the brilliant fall foliage. Or compare your school spirit to Big Nut and other Ohio State University Buckeyes super-fans.

Of course, the story I’m most excited about was penned by yours truly. I had the opportunity to travel down to Columbus for the day to meet a few absolutely fabulous designers and shop owners for the article “Fashion Capital.”

I visited Substance in the Short North– an adorable little shopping district near Ohio State’s campus– that carries a wide range of pieces from local designers. Most notable was the unique collection of jewelry. I also stopped in to interview the owners of Thread on Grandview. Most items were too pricey for me, but a lot of the pieces could be wardrobe staples worth the splurge. Thread carries a lot of designers exclusive only to their store or, in the example of Maison Scotch, the only location across the States that carries that European label.

Not only is Columbus apparently a great destination for shopping, but it was ranked third for best cities for fashion designers to live and work. I met Kelli Martin, a season five contestant on Project Runway, who is now doing things on her terms and helping run Alternative Fashion Mob. I also had a great chat with Gary Jones of Jones Select, a custom tailor and clothier. I was digging the details about how these Columbus natives are changing the fashion landscape, and they’re doing it right here from Ohio.

Alright, there is one story that I was a little more excited about: “Rocking the Nightlife.” As a young twenty-something, I know the cheap eats and brew spots around the city. But it’s always fun to learn about the fine dining, fancy cocktails and swankier bars.

So when you see the vivid orange foliage cover of Ohio Magazine at the grocery store, take a moment to pick it up and flip through. Until then, enjoy a few pictures I took on my trip to the capital–exclusive to Midwest Perspective!

021

A cool display of Phyllis & Hazel designs at Substance in the Short North, Columbus.

026

I was loving the unique jewelry at Substance.

030

Most of the clothes at Substance are from local designers. Shop local!

041

All about the bling at Thread on Grandview, in Grandview, Columbus.

046

The sister-owners travel to Europe frequently in search of new lines to bring to Thread– and introduce to America!

050

Maison Scotch is an up-and-coming line out of Amsterdam. Can I have this leather shirt, puh-lease?!

057

A lot of the jewelry lines carried are exclusive to Thread.

059

The atmosphere was warm, rustic and homey. I could browse at Thread all day!

