Tags

, , , , ,

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccvdDTqo95s]

 

“I always tell the girls, never take it seriously, if ya never take it seriosuly, ya never get hurt, ya never get hurt, ya always have fun, and if you ever get lonely, just go to the record store and visit your friends.” –Penny Lane, Almost Famous

I’m not quite sure what it was, but a couple days ago this quote from Almost Famous popped into my head and did not want to leave. I haven’t watched the movie in at least a year, so I’m still trying to decide how or why it came to me.

Things are changing up in my life: making new friends, beginning my career and growing up in general. I need a reminder that while there is certainly a time to be serious, my early-twenties are also a time to have fun, be creative and explore ideas.

So maybe that’s why I thought of Penny Lane’s quote. Of course, when the growing pains kick in, we can always fall back on comfortable nostalgia with our most loyal of friends and, with them, bring out some vinyl records to have a good listen to those other rocky, folky and jazzy friends who accompanied us on both the best and worst days.

Happy Tuesday, folks! Here’s to embracing change with confidence, but not forgetting the good times past, present and still to come. xo

