Tags

, , , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Apparently Wednesdays are for music. Between Wade Oval Wednesdays, the Rock Hall’s Summer in the City Concert Series, shows at Beachland Ballroom and, tonight, Lord Huron playing at the Grog Shop, I can’t decide where to go.

I discovered Summer in the City Concert Series last week when my friends asked if I would like to see Phosphorescent. Who? I thought. But I had the evening open, and who wouldn’t love to watch a free concert in the plaza of the beautiful Rock and Roll Hall of Fame? I got much more than I bargained for.

Matthew Houck’s raspy vocals immediately hooked me. We tried to decide who he sounded like—did I catch a hint of The Wallflowers on that last song? When I noticed the keyboarder rocking out like he was making Head Banging Beethoven a thing, I was even more invested. At such a small venue, it was easy to get right up next to the stage like we were at our own private concert.

After Phosphorescent left the stage, Houck stayed on to perform “Wolves” from his 2007 album Pride. Using a foot pedal, Houck began looping more and more vocals as the song progressed, to the point much of the audience scrunched their faces and laughed awkwardly with their friends. Though the unique crescendo certainly gives merit to his artistry, I was glad to find the recorded song is not quite as… chaotic. Listen to the album version here.

Long story short, an evening with nothing better to do turned into a love affair with a new artist. I’ve been playing Song For Zula on repeat, and I’m ready for it to hit the Cleveland radio waves.

Wednesday is here again. Next week, head over to the Rock Hall to catch Night Moves open for Father John Misty and nibble on treats from food trucks parked nearby. But tonight, Lord Huron…at the Grog Shop…will be amazing. How do you spend Wednesday evenings?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

