Tags

, , , , , ,

When I have a rare Saturday off, I like use the day to its fullest potential. That means sleeping in, indulging in brunch, exploring new locations and taking part in exciting events.

I headed to the downtown Convention Center on Friday to watch the opening ceremony for the Senior Games. I missed the carrying of the torch and a performance by Rusted Root (darn!), but at least I made it for the final fireworks show.

Saturday, I met a couple of friends at the West Side Market, which I had not seen since it was restored following a fire at the beginning of the year. Just one block away is the Ohio City Farm, a 6 acre plot on publicly owned land that features glimpses of the Cleveland skyline. Urban farming doesn’t get much closer than that.

For a late brunch, we went to The South Side in Tremont. This restaurant has been on my dining list for a couple months, and I’m pumped my first experience there was with something else I had been craving to try: chicken and waffles!

Across the street is Loop: part coffee shop, part record store. I was too stuffed to consider a cup of Joe (gasp), but we were excited about some of the newly released records. Daft Punk’s ‘Random Access Memories’, currently topping midyear vinyl sales, and ‘Trouble Will Find Me’ by The National were found hidden among the racks, but Phosphorescent’s album was prominently on display.

I closed out the weekend with what is becoming a weekly family outing: Mitchell’s Ice Cream. This is one summer ritual I do not want to quit.

I hope you all had a great weekend and are looking forward to the week ahead. Between assignments, a couple posts I have planned for Midwest Perspective and a guest post in the works, I’m set for a busy week. Bring it on!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gorgeous view at the Senior Games opening ceremony.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The West Side Market. What’s your favorite stand?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Taking advantage of open lots in the city.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Great view from Ohio City Farm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunflowers stand tall against the backyards of West 25th Street.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My first chicken and waffles and my first trip to South Side.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Searching for The Clash and Michael Jackson at Loop.

