Tags

, , , , ,

 

Book cover, photo via House Love

This weekend, The Cleveland Restoration Society will be hosting Ron Tanner for a presentation on his book, From Animal House to Our House: A Love Story.

Dr. Tanner is my all-time favorite college professor. He honed my writing skills, introduced me to creating digital media, forced me to start this blog (in a seriously difficult course called Writing for the Web) and encouraged me to seek the topics that interest me most.

In 2012, Dr. Tanner published From Animal House to Our House through Academy Chicago Publishers. The book tells the story of the hard work and love that went into transforming an abused frat house into a gorgeous place to call home.

The Charm City fixer-upper, via House Love

The Charm City fixer-upper, via House Love

I’ve been following some of the DIY projects they completed over the years, and I cannot wait to not only reconnect with Dr. Tanner, but also to hear more about the process and dedication of rehabbing a condemned structure.

Clevelanders already know about condemned properties. They are scattered all over the inner city. But with limited funds to demolish each eye sore, people taking up the battle of restoring select properties are invaluable.

The presentation will be at the Sarah Benedict House on Saturday, July 27, at 11 a.m. and visit House Love to see more. Whether you are interested in good literature, home DIY or revitalizing Cleveland’s neighborhoods one house at a time, I hope to see you there!

