Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

Miranda Kerr in Isabel Marant

Miranda Kerr in Isabel Marant

Whenever I bring up wedge sneakers, I get mixed reviews. And by mixed, I mean most of my family and friends think I’m crazy.

In case you’ve been living under a rock, wedge sneakers are a hot piece of footwear made famous by designer Isabel Marant. The most stylish of celebs have been spotted strutting about town wearing them, including Beyoncé and Miranda Kerr. With fest season coming around, do not be surprised to see concert-goers lacing up as well.

From the second I saw these odd sneaks, I wanted them. I love comfortable footwear, but that doesn’t mean I steer away from a bit of a heel. My “rainboots” are brown lace-up booties with a 4-inch heel, after all! Wedges bring me back to middle school years when I thought the bulky skater shoes were totally cool, and more recently the trend I always loved but never tried: high-top kicks.

Beyonce wearing Isabel Marant

Beyonce wearing Isabel Marant

Even though the designs by Isabel Marant are the most famous and recognizable, many more affordable lines have mimicked the style. Skechers, Steve Madden and Target carry the shoe in multiple colors, but a quick online search brings up a plethora of brands I have never even heard of.

Just to get the idea, here’s a few wedge sneaks I added to my cyber shopping cart. Which style is your favorite? Or maybe you side with my friends. Is this a passing trend I should ignore and try to forget?

sneaks xhilaration

Women’s Xhilaration® Shayenne High Top in Taupe – $34.99

sneaks steve madden

Steve Madden Womens Hilight Wedge Sneakers – $149.99

sneaks sketchers

Skechers Women’s SKCH Plus 3 Sputnik – $80

