Tags

, , , , , , ,

There’s no place like home. Except that at the moment, the home I am thinking about is where I studied abroad in Avignon, France. In the past few days, so many things have been reminding me of my home away from home.

The pitch of birds chirping in the morning. A certain scent on the air drifting through a cracked window. Watching Midnight in Paris. A French song. A spring 2011 club hit coming on the radio, reminding me of late nights in a discoteque.

The list goes on, and for some reason, my nostalgia is much stronger now than it has been in months. Is it because I am nearing the two year mark of the day I first crossed the pond? Whatever it is, I can’t decide if looking at my numerous photo albums is comforting or bringing me more heartache.

Enjoy a few pictures of ma belle ville en France—maybe you will see why I am missing it so much. Here’s to hoping I can return someday soon!

Avignon

Plaza outside le Palais des Papes– the popes’ palace

Avignon2

Charmed by the ancient architecture and rooftops

Avignon3

Looking out my bedroom window over our garden. Shutters!

Avignon4

Wisteria in my host mom’s garden– La glycine quickly became my favorite flower

Avignon5

Carousels are in every city. At Place de l’Horloge, it juxtaposed beautifully with le théâtre.

Avignon7

View from the top of le Palais des Papes – photo by Hannah G.

Avignon8

Constantly in awe of the ancient architecture around me

Avignon9

Getting wonderfully lost in the cobblestone allies

Avignon12

Bistrot à Tartines at Place des Corps-Saints. So tasty! – photo by Hannah G.

Avignon13

Missing my host mom’s beautiful provencial French house

Avignon14

Our gorgeous, blue eyed beau, Alban

Avignon15

Place Pie, where we used to bask in the sunlight outside Les Halles to sip café, or kir et vin at night

Avignon16

Living art at Les Halles

Avignon17

At the corner where I’d turn onto the tree-lined, cobblestone walkway, Rue des Teinturiers

Avignon18

With its stained glass windows and a canopy of wisteria, I so wanted to eat at this restaurant during the spring

Avignon21

Le Pont d’Avignon and le Palais des Papes from the island where we picnicked – photo by Hannah G.

Avignon22

Rue des Teinturiers, and a view of one of the antique shops the lined the street

Avignon25

The shutters, the allies, cobblestones and flowers. I miss walking through town!

Avignon26

C’est ma belle ville, Avignon ❤ – photo by Calvin C.

