Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The Grammy Awards had a strange flow this year. The Black Keys rocked on stage (shout out to Northeast Ohio!), then were followed by Kelly Clarkson’s mellow tribute to Patti Page and Carole King. No one could stop talking about Rihanna and Chris Brown being back together, nor the fact that he was often the only one avoiding standing ovations. And then there were Katy Perry’s…

But the awkward moments and inadequate transitions aside, let’s turn to the red carpet stars who did not disappoint. Speaking of what they didn’t do, should we talk about how effective the CBS dress code was? Good try, said JLo’s leg and the countless cutout dresses.

Carrie Underwood looked gorgeous in Roberto Cavalli. Maybe that $31 million necklace helped add the extra sparkle.

Grammys Carrie Underwood Roberto Cavalli

Florence Welch wore a custom design by Givenchy. And she was the hottest dinosaur to ever hit the red carpet.Grammys Florence Welch Givenchy

I would be lying to myself if I didn’t admit Rihanna looked fabulous in cherry red Azzedine Alaia.

Grammys Rihanna Azzedine Alaia

Taylor Swift was “stoked” to be at the Grammys again (insert her shocked face here). It didn’t take long for her J Mendel gown to grow on me.

Grammys TSwift J Mendel

When I saw the E! GlamCam 360 shot of Natasha Bedingfield, I knew her Emerson gown would land on my best dressed list.

Grammys Natasha Bedingfield Emerson

Shout out to the men! Unlike his last red carpet appearance where he was under-dressed, Justin Timberlake stepped it up in a snazzy Suit and [bow] Tie. John Mayer was my personal favorite, though. I, too, have an indigo velvet blazer.

Grammys John Mayer indigo velvet jacket

Since I won’t make a best dressed list of the BAFTA’s, I simply had to include Marion Cotillard. She looked like the most beautiful canary yellow tulip in Christian Dior Couture. When I saw this dress on the runway, I had dreams my favorite French actress would wear it, too!

BAFTA Marion Cotillard DiorOne week until the Academy Awards. Let the countdown to my favorite red carpet event of the year begin! You can bet I’ll be live Tweeting and sharing my Oscar Best Dressed.

