Tags

, , ,

 

My love of French cinema doesn’t have an exact beginning. I watched the famously endearing Amélie sometime in grade school. During high school, I saw a few more movies with Audrey Tautou and was introduced to one of my current favorite actresses, Marion Cotillard.

L’écume des jours (Mood Indigo in the States) will bring quirky Tautou back to the big screen, and I could not be more excited. According to IMDB, “A woman suffers from an unusual illness caused by a flower growing in her lungs.” Now, I’m not sure I got that little bit from the trailer. But what I did see was a prime example of the unique, artistic qualities that I tend to find in contemporary French films.

I never quite understood the superstitious attitude of Mathilde in Un long dimanche de fiançailles, or the bizarre cinematography in Amélie. The style is so different from what we are used to Hollywood pumping out. If you would like help knowing what to expect, director Michel Gondry is also the man behind Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, and these two films will surely evoke similar sentiments.

Watch the trailer and make your own prediction on the plot. But when Mood Indigo is playing at your local independent theater, make sure to plan a movie date. You can bet I will!

