Tags

, , ,

As I travel from one big city to another today, I am reminded that I am a city girl. I grew up in the inner city. I have a keen interest in urban issues, whether dealing with poverty and housing or the environment and pollution.

At the same time, I have always been drawn to the majesty of nature. From the quiet solitude of the Redwood Forests in California, to the raging water at Niagara Falls, I find nothing more powerful than watching Mother Nature show us who is in charge.

I’m not sure how I find the balance between these callings. How can I simultaneously desire a metropolitan lifestyle while craving adventures to Earth’s natural wonders?

This quote is a good reminder to all us urban folk, that we will continue living our lives, changing landscapes and depleting resources. But everyone has an innate spirit calling them back to nature. So, let’s work on saving as much as we can.

The human spirit needs places where nature has not been rearranged by the hand of man.

human spirit

