Saint-Exupery-Le-Petit-Prince

If the name Antoine de Saint-Exupéry does not ring a bell, perhaps the author’s book, Le Petit Prince, will. Le Petit Prince is a French children’s novel that has become a beloved story on both sides of the Atlantic.

I have often referred to the novel for words of wisdom from the characters. Today, however, it is Saint-Exupéry’s own that resonate best: « Pour ce qui est de l’avenir, il ne s’agit pas de le prévoir mais de le rendre possible. »

“As far as the future is concerned, it is not to predict but to make it possible.”

I have heard that if you are filled with anxiety (and heck yeah I am), it is because you are living in the future instead of the present. This quote reminds me that no predictions, hopes or aspirations could possibly come true in the future unless I take time in the present to plan, work hard and make them possible.

Here’s to a productive Hump Day… and a happy birthday on 12/12/12 to my best friend and partner-in-crime, Trudy! XxOo

