After weeks of mostly gray skies and chilly winds, I find myself enjoying the outdoors in Cleveland again. Trees are bare, and there is surely a cold front stalling around the corner.

But the flawless blue sky has me bursting with a sartorial energy that has been lacking for some time now. Slouchy sweaters are on the shelf. Neutral shades that I’ve been wearing to blend in with the mood of our naked trees are hanging silently in the closet.  It’s time to bring life back into our fall wardrobes, and I’m suggesting a floral revival.

I wrote about the Botanical Calling during the summer, when the fashion world was still running a high from the floral-infused spring and summer collections (Remember Dolce & Gabbana and Oscer de la Renta?). But autumn florals are a whole new game. Think layers: cozy cardigans over a sundress or a thick knit scarf with sheer blouses.  Get inspired by your favorite fall shades: mustard, navy, oxblood and emerald.

Stop blending in with shades of brown. There is no time like the present to make your outfit pop!

Dolce & Gabbana F/W 2012

Alexander Terekhov Fall 2012

Balmain RTW Fall 2012

Valentino Haute Couture 2012

 

