“There’s only one really good life, and that’s the life that you know you want and you make it yourself” –Diana Vreeland

My uncle invited me to see “Diana Vreeland: The Eye has to Travel” at the Cleveland Film Festival last spring. Being a fashion and magazine enthusiast, I had heard of Diana and knew some of her work. But the documentary blew me away, introduced me to a “divine” woman, and gave a me an inside glimpse of a profession I always enjoyed.

The documentary, directed by her daughter, Lisa Immordino Vreeland, was screened at the Museum of Modern Art in New York on September 8, once again reminding me of this unique and inspiring woman.

Now a graduate of the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University, I have been searching for the job that will serve as the stepping stone into my career. I’m nervous about taking the wrong job. I’m anxious of where I will be and how I will get there.

Sometimes I make excuses. “I can send follow-up emails tomorrow” or “Skipping my workout today won’t really make a difference.” Sometimes I take to heart people’s warning that it’s impossible to acquire an entry-level position at a magazine.

This quote from Diana Vreeland comes at the perfect time. Just when I doubt that I can change the way I look and feel, or question whether I can achieve the career and future I desire, her words remind me that the life I truly want is attainable. I just have to get up and work for it.

