Last week, I wrote about the locavore movement and my family’s farm share, where each week we are given a portion of whatever has been harvested. Needless to say, for someone who loves eating veggies, it has been a great gastronomical summer.

Inspired by my green-glowing, overflowing refrigerator (and, I admit, by Pinterest), I pulled out our George Foreman Grill to put a twist on the grilled cheese sandwich. Here’s what I did!

I gathered all my potential ingredients on the counter. I spread a spicy three pepper hummus on one slice of low glycemic whole wheat bread, then added sliced onion and slivers of white cheddar from 100% grass-fed cows. I lightly buttered the outside of the bread and grilled the sandwich.

I like to keep my leafy greens crisp, so I waited to add arugula and the messy avocado for the end. While the cheese is still hot, the sandwich opens up easily. All ingredients were local except the hummus and avocado, and the results were delicious. I can’t wait to see what this week’s harvest will bring!

Would you like to try this? Have any similar tasty suggestions? Bon appetit, mes amis!

