Daffodils on my way to the gym, like little rays of sunshine!

As a bit of a nature lover, Earth Day holds special meaning for me each year. Today, I remember helping my mom volunteer at the Cleveland Metroparks Zoo during high school. While she worked all day, informing visitors about Cuyahoga Soil and Water Conservation District‘s work and mission, I was able to slip away and explore the zoo on my own.

This is year, I unfortunately could not be at the zoo with my mom. But I’m finding my own way to celebrate our planet. I recycle almost everything I can. I turn off lights when I leave the room. And I unplug things when I’m not using them.

I don’t mean to sound like an old phony, but our Earth is special and we often take it for granted. So, buy local produce, cut back on clothing items you don’t need, stop running the water, and pick up litter you find on the ground. There is a lot we can do to keep out planet clean, so why not begin today? Happy Earth Day!

