I was working out at the gym, monotonously jogging ten laps to the mile for three miles and taking long water breaks, when a blast from my ‘90s childhood surged into my headphones. Meredith Brooks’ “Bitch” broke up a playlist that had been predominantly dance club hits (you know, Britney, Jay-Z, Lady Gaga…) and I had a new spring to my step. Dare I say, the energy of my youth rushed through my body and carried me through the next four laps.

Coincidentally, the next week in my Women, Gender and Rock class, we began discussing the post-Riot Grrrl artists, including Alanis Morissette and Meredith Brooks. Their music was able to join the mainstream in a way the punk and Riot Grrrl bands never did, making girls’ anger toward individual issues more melodic and accessible than it was before.

The ‘90s were an awkward time, very much in between generations. But We Love the ‘90s, and this is just one song to help remember why.

Watch Meredith Brooks perform Bitch at Lilith Fair here. Music video is linked above.

